Slum Doctor Programme


New Voice
August 29, 2007, 1:44 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Being the new intern around here, one of the first things Jesse had me do was take over responsibilities for the blog. This is my first week of a 14-week internship with the Slum Doctor Programme, and so far most of my time has consisted of familiarizing myself with all of the work we do. Reading up on the programs in Africa, as well as the local educational focus, makes me really excited about what SDP is doing to integrate global issues and local awareness. Too often organizations lean too far in one direction or the other, neglecting the people and resources around them, or neglecting places in the most distress, such as Africa. Another impression from the first few days is that Jesse oftentimes sits at his computer listening to lots of random music, looking busy to set a good example for me, the new guy on the job. I’m really looking forward to exploring SDP further and learning where my passions lie in the field of nonprofit work as I volunteer full time this fall. Hopefully I will hear from a lot of you and get feedback that will probably consist of things like, “send Jesse back to writing on the blog!”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

